新闻中心

通过我们的最新动态,更新,新闻和公告使您保持最新状态。

CWH 为 COVID 大流行带来了一线希望——将空荡荡的学生宿舍改造成弱势女性的避风港

25 2021月

 

我们很高兴地宣布,City West Housing (CWH) 将为逃离家庭暴力或面临无家可归风险的女性提供多达 20 套经济实惠的公寓。

CWH 与妇女社区收容所 (WCS)、Scape Australia 和悉尼市 (CoS) 合作,将 20 间空荡荡的学生公寓改造成安全可靠的经济适用房,供逃离家庭暴力或无家可归风险的单身女性使用。

由于 COVID-19 大流行导致国际边界关闭,国际学生缺席,导致悉尼市 LGA 有数千个学生宿舍空置。 CWH 将租用多达 20 个工作室单位,这些单位将提供给内城女性社区中心和其他女性服务机构推荐的女性,为期 12 个月。 预计首批居民将在圣诞节前入住。

City West Housing 首席执行官 Leonie King 期待为这些弱势群体提供住房,并支持他们过渡到长期住房解决方案。

“感谢我们的合作伙伴 Women's Community Shelters、Scape Australia 和悉尼市合作开展这一重要计划,以从大流行的影响中取得积极成果,利用空置的学生宿舍为我们最脆弱的一些人提供一个家社会上的人,”莱奥尼说。

WCS 将为租户提供案例管理支持,并将与 CWH 合作,在为期一年的项目结束时支持租户过渡到安全且负担得起的住所。

希望如果这种模式成功,它将被其他学生住宿提供者复制,并成为未来可持续的经济适用房选择。

 

 

西城
西城

CWH NEWS

KEEPING YOU UPDATED WITH OUR LATEST MOVEMENTS, UPDATES, NEWS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS.

CWH is bringing a silver lining to the COVID pandemic – converting empty student accommodation to a safe haven for vulnerable women

25 October 2021

 

We are thrilled to announce that City West Housing (CWH) will be providing up to 20 affordable apartments for women who are fleeing domestic violence or are at risk of homelessness.

CWH has partnered with Women’s Community Shelters (WCS), Scape Australia and the City of Sydney (CoS) to convert 20 empty student accommodation apartments to safe and secure affordable housing for single women fleeing domestic and family violence or are at risk of homelessness.

The absence of international students due to the closing of international borders from the COVID-19 pandemic, has resulted in thousands of vacant student accommodation in the City of Sydney LGA. CWH will lease up to 20 studio units which will be offered to women who are referred by Women’s Community Centre and other women’s services in the inner city for 12-months. It is anticipated that the first residents will move in before Christmas.

City West Housing CEO, Leonie King, is looking forward to providing homes for this vulnerable population and supporting their transition into a long-term housing solution.

“Thank you to our partners Women’s Community Shelters, Scape Australia and the City of Sydney for collaborating on this important program to bring a positive outcome from the effects of the pandemic, to use vacant student accommodation to provide a home for some of our most vulnerable people in society,” said Leonie.

WCS will provide case management support to the tenants and will work together with CWH to support the tenants’ transition into secure and affordable accommodation at the end of the year-long project.

It is hoped that if this model is successful, it will be replicated across other student accommodation providers and become a sustainable affordable housing option in the future.

 

 

CITY WEST HOUSING
CITY WEST HOUSING